EBMUD Board of Directors Elect New President and Vice President

In its first action of the year, the East Bay Municipal Utility District Board unanimously elected Marguerite Young President of the EBMUD Board of Directors and Doug Linney Vice President.

“Director Linney and I look forward to leading this District as we continue to serve our community. I thank outgoing President Lesa R. McIntosh and Vice President William B. Patterson for their work to secure our water supply, protect the San Francisco Bay, and fulfill our mission to provide quality service to the people of the East Bay,” Young said.

“Investment in our community’s water infrastructure is our focus now, as is our continued work to protect the natural resources that we are entrusted to manage,” Young said. “EBMUD delivers quality water to 1.4 million customers every day, and it’s crucial that we prioritize the renewal of the system that makes this possible.”   

Young was first elected in 2014 and ran unopposed in 2018. She represents Ward 3, which includes Piedmont, Orinda, Moraga, El Sobrante and portions of Oakland, Pinole and Richmond. Young has been active in water policy issues for decades. She co-chaired the CALFED Bay–Delta Program’s Water Quality Outreach Committee, was California Director of Clean Water Action and co-founded the League of Conservation Voters – East Bay.

Linney represents Ward 5, which includes Alameda, San Lorenzo, West Oakland and Oakland Airport area and a portion of San Leandro. Linney, who lives in Alameda and heads a public relations firm specializing in environmental protection, was first elected to the Board in 2000 and subsequently reelected in 2004, 2008 and 2012 and appointed in 2016. He was board president in 2009 and 2010, following a two-year term as board vice president.

EBMUD’s Board of Directors consists of seven members publicly elected by geographical wards. In addition to President Young and Vice President Linney, these Board members serve the following areas:

  • John A. Coleman (Ward 2) - Alamo, Lafayette, Walnut Creek, Danville, communities of Blackhawk and Diablo, and portions of Pleasant Hill and San Ramon
  • Andy Katz  (Ward 4) - Albany, Berkeley, El Cerrito, Emeryville, Kensington and portions of Oakland
  • Lesa R. McIntosh (Ward 1) - Crockett, Hercules, Rodeo, and San Pablo; portions of Richmond and Pinole, and the communities of North Richmond and Selby
  • Frank Mellon (Ward 7) - Castro Valley, portions of San Leandro, Hayward and San Ramon; Cherryland and Fairview
  • William B. Patterson (Ward 6) - East Oakland Hills and south of Lake Merritt to the San Leandro boundary