EBMUD congratulates Board members on reelection

EBMUD's Board of Directors consists of seven members publicly elected by geographical wards.

OAKLAND, CA—Today the East Bay Municipal Utility District congratulated recently reelected Board member Lesa R. McIntosh and appointed members Doug Linney and William B. Patterson. Certified results of the November 2016 election received from the Contra Costa County Registrar of Voters confirmed Director McIntosh’s win. Elections for EBMUD Board Directors in Wards 1, 5 and 6 were held on Tuesday, November 8, 2016 and were consolidated with the General Election in Alameda and Contra Costa counties.

The board members in Wards 1, 5, and 6 will serve a four-year term of office beginning Tuesday, January 1, 2017 and ending Friday, December 31, 2020. They will take the Oath of Office on Tuesday, January 10, 2017.

Richmond’s Lesa R. McIntosh, who represents Ward 1, was reelected to a four-year term on the seven-member Board. Ward 1 includes Crockett, Hercules, Rodeo, and San Pablo; portions of Richmond and Pinole, and the communities of North Richmond and Selby. McIntosh was appointed to the board in 1999, elected in 2000 and reelected in 2004, 2008 and 2012. She was Vice-President of the Board in 2005 and 2006 and served as President in 2007 and 2008.

Doug Linney will serve another four-year term on the Board representing Ward 5, which includes Alameda, San Lorenzo, West Oakland and Oakland Airport Area and a portion of San Leandro. Linney, who lives in Alameda and is president of the Next Generation public relations firm specializing in environmental protection, was first elected to the Board in 2000 and subsequently reelected in 2004, 2008 and 2012. He was Board President in 2009 and 2010, following a two-year stint as Board Vice-President.

William B. Patterson will serve another four-year term representing Ward 6, which includes part of Oakland—East Oakland and south of Park Boulevard and Fifth Avenue—to the San Leandro city boundary. Patterson, who lives in Oakland, is a longtime community activist and former Oakland Parks and Recreation manager. He was appointed to the Board in 1997 and elected in 1998 and reelected in 2000, 2004, 2008 and 2012. He served as Board President in 2005 and 2006, following two years as Board Vice-President, a role he in which he currently serves.

Assembly Bill 408 (Section 11852.5 of the Municipal Utility District Act) permits the EBMUD Board to appoint a candidate in lieu of holding an election if only one or no candidate runs for an open ward seat. The election official of Alameda notified the District that the incumbent candidates for Wards 5 and 6 were running unopposed in their respective wards. At the August 23, 2016 Special Board meeting, the Board appointed the sole candidates running for election: Doug Linney to Ward 5 and William B. Patterson to Ward 6.

EBMUD’s Board of Directors consists of seven members publicly elected by geographical wards. Board members not up for reelection who will continue service on the Board include:

Frank Mellon serves as Board President and represents Ward 7 which includes Castro Valley, portions of San Leandro, Hayward and San Ramon
John A. Coleman represents Ward 2, which includes Alamo, Lafayette, Walnut Creek, the Town of Danville, communities of Blackhawk and Diablo, and portions of Pleasant Hill and San Ramon.
Andy Katz serves Ward 4, which includes Albany, Berkeley, El Cerrito, Emeryville, Kensington and portions of Oakland.
Marguerite Young represents Ward 3, which includes Piedmont, Orinda and El Sobrante and the town of Moraga, as well as portions of Oakland, Pinole and Richmond.